Social Media: Connect vs Disconnect

Some of these slides I feel are too extreme. I’ll choose to ignore those and focus on the one’s that interest me ..

we are so connected that we are starting to become disconnected

Society is being shaped by the perception of others to form our social self

Social media allows people to empathize their positives. And delete their negatives.

When online we choose what we want to reveal and what’s left out. In order to project the image we want people to have of us.

 

First of all…

I acknowledge that I am guilty of checking-in, Instagramming, texting, checking my email, playing WWF in front of friends/family at a dinner table.

– Why do I do this?

To feel connected? To share my location to the world that I’m here, alive, existing, living life?

Shouldn’t I be connecting to the person who’s right in front of me?

Why is it so important to project the image we want people to have of us?

To show up as carefree, when I’m still trying to battle my self-doubt

To show up as “i don’t care what people think”, when clearly I still am pining for validation for my self-worth 

At the same time, I still believe in the good power of social media and how it can connect communities and people. See Facebook groups/events. Meetup.com, OKC, LinkedIN, Yelp.

But so many people are stil so concerned about living life in a status update. Me included.

Right now, I’m working on being concerned with how my life feels rather than how it looks.

I’ll Instagram to show the world that NYC is not always hustle/bustle, and it is possible you can find moments where people of NYC to stop in moments of awe

I’ll check-in on FourSquare with the intent of finding tips left by locals and even leave a few tips for recommended dishes

I’ll write a great Yelp review because I want to see this business thrive and feel good about contributing to their success after.

I’ll Facebook status update an inspiring quote, a TEDtalk, or maybe a Spartan WOD with the intention to evoke action/reaction

I won’t even care how many times I mupload/tweet/check-in because my actions dictate who I am. I don’t give a fuck.

 

About tifflin123

Adventurer. Traveler. Explorer. Living. Loving. Learning.

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Awareness, Reflections, social media, the world. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

